Jump to content
  • Bogdanović: Guitar Music

    Cristiano Porqueddu

    Il CD del chitarrista italiano @Angelo Marchese interamente dedicato alla musica del compositore serbo Dušan Bogdanović (1955). 

    La tracklist del CD è così articolata:

    • Sonatas Nos 1 & 2
    • Raguette No. 2
    • Cinque Pezzi di Mare Introduction, Passacaglia and Fugue for the “Golden Flower”
    • Quatre Bagetelles
    • Polyrhythmic and Polymetric Studies

    Dal sito dell'editore:

    With sonatas, bagatelles, studies and dances, this disc forms a comprehensive introduction to the classically oriented section of the diverse oeuvre of the guitarist/composer Dusan Bogdanovic. Serbian by origin, long based in the US, Bogdanovic (b.1955) has made artistic collaborations with jazz, classical and ‘world’ musicians throughout his career. His distinguished pedagogical work has resulted in the publication of various method-books for guitarists and is represented here by five of his Polyrhythmic and Polymetric Studies (1990). 

    The two sonatas are more substantially through-composed works. As Bogdanovi himself remarks in a useful booklet note, the first sonata (1978) betrays the influence of Bartok upon his early compositions, while the second, written seven years later, admits a much wider frame of reference, disciplined by the classical sonata model. The resulting work has nothing of the generically Spanish flavour that is evident in so much guitar music, but takes its cue from the composer’s own mastery of the instrument to move between whimsical reflection and punchy, rhythmic momentum with some technical innovations that produce new sounds and tone-colours. The second Raguette pursues these innovations more single-mindedly: a brief introduction to the Indian raga tradition ‘meant for nervous Westerners’, melodically based on a work of John Dowland

    There is also a first recording, of a work commissioned by Angelo Marchese, and inspired by the soloist’s native Sicily. In Cinque pezzi di Mare (2013), a romantic spirit of expression grows from material based on modes rather than standard diatonic harmony, enclosing a waltz which consciously evokes the idiom of the jazz pianist Bill Evans. This is an important addition to the extensive Brilliant Classics library of guitar music. 

    Dusan Bogdanovic, born in 1955 in former Yugoslavia, is one of the foremost guitar composers and guitarists of today. A pupil of Alberto Ginastera and winner of the prestigious Geneva Competition he successfully toured the world’s continents as performer and composer. 
    Bogdanovic’s style may be described as a fusion of classical, jazz and ethnic, a unique and personal style of strong expression and feelings. 
    Guitarist Angelo Marchese is “an profound performer of supreme technical mastery” (Guitart magazine). His recording of Gilardino’s guitar concerto for Brilliant Classics (BC94747) was widely praised in the press. 
    The booklet contains extensive and authoritative liner notes written by the composer.

    User Feedback

    Recommended Comments

    There are no comments to display.

    Join the conversation

    You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

    Add a comment...

    ×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

      Only 75 emoji are allowed.

    ×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

    ×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

    ×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

  • Our picks

    • Allure dégingandée, plâtres pour clarinette et guitare 
      Duo Anlagen  (Angela Longo clarinetto, Angelo Martines chitarra)
      © 2017 OMK-Da Vinci Edition and Valle Giovanni Edizioni
      partiture: Da Vinci Edition  - ValleGiovanni Edizioni Musicali   
      • 0 replies
    • Le Edizioni UtOrpheus pubblicano i 24 Preludi e Ricercari per Chitarra di Alfredo Franco; revisione a cura di Leonardo de Marchi.

      I 24 Preludi e Ricercari sono un’opera con finalità didattiche in cui il compositore Alfredo Franco (1967) sintetizza la sua predilezione per alcune forme musicali ormai canonizzate dalla tradizione musicale. Difficile non scorgere in filigrana un omaggio a uno dei più significativi cicli pedagogici per chitarra del XX secolo, vale a dire i 24 Preludi che il compositore messicano Manuel Maria Ponce (1882-1948) scrisse su stimolo del celeberrimo Andrés Segovia. Analogamente a Ponce, Franco struttura una raccolta che va a coprire tutte le 24 tonalità del sistema temperato equabile; ad ogni Preludio segue un Ricercare, forma contrappuntistica di tipo imitativo ben rappresentata nella letteratura rinascimentale per liuto, che esplora le possibilità polifoniche dello strumento nella tonalità d’impianto del corrispondente Preludio.
      • 0 replies
    • 12 Études di Mark Delpriora
      12 Études di Mark Delpriora
      • 0 replies
  • Create New...

Important Information

By using this site, you agree to our Terms of Use.